A few days ago we created a blog post summarizing the National Bioengineered Food Disclosure Standard Legislation. We have received a number of inquiries regarding how to create QR Code labels. Fortunately, we sell BarTender Basic from Seagull Software. [Read more…]
There are a number of reasons for adding Narrow-Web Digital to your Flexo/Indigo shop. Best Practices: Digital Strategies, published by packagePRINTING, explains that the benefits are well known: increased speed, lower cost, and variable data capabilities. However, the article also explains the differing reasons that printers and converters add digital. The main reasons that packagePRINTING focused on were increasing demand for short runs, and printing flexibility. [Read more…]
No Skilled Operators Needed
Flexo shops are familiar with presses that cost hundreds of thousands of dollars, or in some cases, upwards of a million dollars, and require a skilled operator to run the press. The average salary for an entry-level flexo press operator in the US is $30,000 (simplyhired.com). Add those together and one must generate hundreds of dollars in margin every hour to be profitable.
Contrast that with our an entry-level, Memjet-powered L801 Color Label Printer (less than $10,000) that can print 14,400 4×6″ pre-cut labels per hour (at less than $0.04 per label). Since flexo companies are so used to requiring skilled operators, they may ask, “who will run this machine?” The answer is simple: it can be run by an administrative worker with very little training. [Read more…]
The barcode has been around for 40 years. It revolutionized industrial labeling, warehouse management, product logistics, and asset tracking. As helpful as barcodes have been, there is a fundamental limitation: People cannot read barcodes, which causes costly errors in product stocking and order picking.
In a 2013 study, Intermec (a division of Honeywell) determined that, on average, a distribution center loses $390,000 annually to mis-picks. It has also been estimated by MWPVL International that of the various reasons mis-picks occur, 30% of these errors (about $117,000) are due to picking the wrong item. [Read more…]